Skip to main content

Hall of Fame awards given out at Chateau

Hall of Fame awards given out at Chateau
This year’s Hall of Fame inductees at the Chateau Raceway in Lansing include, from left: Louis “Bug” Lomholt represented by his daughter Darcy Nickson, Larry Nelson and Maynard White represented by his son. Also shown are 2019 inductee LeRoy Scharkey, Todd Scharkey, Dick Veldman represented by his wife Betty and family and Steve Sorensen and 2021 inductee Bryan Hernandez. Submitted photo
Johnnie Phillips, Sports Editor

Week six of racing at Chateau Speedway was highlighted Friday with the induction of six new members into the Chateau Speedway Hall of Fame. 

The third class for the Hall of Fame was highlighted by a group, which included drivers from the 60s all the way into the 2000s. Dick Veldman, a two time champion in the Stock Class in 1962 and 1983, was represented by family members as was three-time champion Louis “Bud” Lomholt. He was Sportsman champion in 1966 and Street Stock champion in 1972 and 1973. 

On hand were three drivers to accept their awards, 1982 Limited Late Model champion Steve Sorensen, two-time A Mod champion Todd Scharkey, who won championships in 2005 and 2014, and a five-time runner-up between 1986 and 2005 in Street Stock and B Mod Classes Larry Nelson. 

The track inducts one Legacy Member each year, an individual who was not necessarily a driver but made significant contributions to racing at Lansing over the years. This year’s winner was Maynard White, who spent years as a crew chief and car owner as well as a mechanic working on cars out of his garage in Mapleview. 

Before and after the awards there was plenty of action to keep the new inductees and everyone else excited with the current group of drivers that do battle at Chateau every summer keeping the history of the track moving on. 

The French’s Repair USRA A Mods continued their run of a different feature winner every week this season as Aaron Benson of Clear Lake, Iowa made his first visit of the year to Chateau a big one as he scored a heat win earlier in the night than back it up with the feature win. Ryan Wetzstein of West Concord, the other heat winner, reeled him in late thanks to some traffic but settled for second ahead of his dad Steve.

Manke’s Outdoor Equipment Hornets also kept the run of a different feature winner every week in tact. Brian Schott of Red Wing went from row two to the front on lap two and ran away from the field for the win.

The string of different feature winners every week came to an end in the Double M Transport USRA B Mod Class as Noah Grinstead of Austin scored his second feature win of the season.

Jack Paulson of Morristown grabbed his second feature win of the year in Power 96 Pure Stocks. PJ Duchene of Faribault took second ahead of Kyndra Guttormson of Chatfield. Andrew Eischens of Taopi and Michael Wick of Faribault took the classes two heats.

Greg Pfeifer Junior of Austin picked up his first feature win of the year in the Hanson Tire WISSOTA Midwest Modified Class as he worked his way out of row three to the front in just three laps. Kadden Kath of Ellendale made a late pass on Adam Martinson of Blaine for second. Kath and Martinson both were heat winners on the night.

In Skjeveland Sanitation USRA Stock Cars, Travis Shipman of Mason City looked to be on his way to his fourth feature win of the year until the car came around under him in turn one while leading bring out the caution. That gave the lead to Chris Adams of McInitre, Iowa who gladly accepted the lead and drove off to his first feature win of the season at Chateau.

The track’s six classes of cars will be back in action Friday with first green flag at 7:15 p.m.

Sign up for News Alerts

Subscribe to news updates