Skip to main content

Steele County to have two contested commissioner races

steele county commissioners, election, 2024, opposed, gnemi, krueger, abbe

There will be two contested commissioner races in Steele County this fall.

Scott Prestegard has filed for District 5, which is currently held by Greg Krueger. Earlier, Josh Prokopec filed for the seat occupied by Rick Gnemi. Both seats will be decided by voters in the fall election.

Commissioner Jim Abbe is running unopposed in District 4.

In other election filings, three candidates have emerged for the Minnesota District 19B race, forcing a primary election in August for the seat.

Thomas J. Sexton of Waseca has filed for the seat, along with Michael J. Ditlevson of Owatonna. Sexton was endorsed by the Republicans earlier this spring. Also filing for the seat is Edelgard Fernandez Mejia of Owatonna. He has been endorsed by the DFL party.

The primary will take place on Tuesday, Aug. 13.

For Soil and Water Conservation seats, David Melby, is currently running unopposed in District Daniel Hansen is currently running unopposed in District 4, and Bradley Hagen, is currently running unopposed in District 5.

For Third Judicial Court seats, those who have filed thus far in Steele County are Christy M. Hormann, for Seat number 3, Ross Leuning, for Seat number 5, Christine Long, for Seat number 12. One candidate in the First Congressional District has filed with Steele County to run for the Court of Appeals, which is Rene L. Worke, who is running for Seat 6.

The filing period for school district and city council races will be July 30-Aug. 13.

Sign up for News Alerts

Subscribe to news updates